Love: When will it happen?

Image

I like to tell myself and those around me that I’m not going to look for my husband because God will just put that perfect man in my life at just the right time, in just the right place and in just the way I need him to enter my life. 

I am a girl though…I really cannot help but think of what he’s going to be like and what we’re going to be like together. 

The relationship in my head:

He’s going to come in and sweep me off my feet but not before I’ve lost those extra 10 pounds (maybe that’s why he’s not here yet??). We’re going to play off of each other really well and he’s going to do everything in his power not to let anything hurt me and I’m gonna do the same for him. He’s clearly going to want all the same things I do and he’s going to share religious views to the point that he will never fight with me about religion (EVER). Anddddd he’s going to make enough money that our combined salaries will allow us to have the 5 or 6 kids, plus possibly adopted kids, that we’re both going to want to have. 

what that relationship will most likely actually be like:

He’s going to come in and sweep me off my feet no matter what I look like. We’re going to play off of each other really well and he’s going to love me and protect me, which is just what I will do for him. He’s going to have his opinions and desires and I’m going to have mine but we will make it work because that is how marriage works. He will do what he loves and no matter what kind of salary he makes we will live within our means and lead very happy lives with however many kids with which the Lord blesses us. 

I’ve been listening to David Archuleta’s “My Kind of Perfect” and I think he’s got it right. 

“It’s gonna be worth it Cause that’s what love is I’ll keep searching for my kind of perfect” 

Whomever I’m meant to be with, he is worth every minute of my waiting, patient and impatient. He’s probably out there thinking about our future too and I just wish he knew that I pray for him everyday: that he will be ready for all the challenges we will face, that he’s saving his love for me like I am for him, and that he is ready for all my craziness that is a lot to handle but I know he will love. 

Future husband, you are my kind of perfect and I love you already, see you soon.

-M

Image

3 thoughts on “Love: When will it happen?

  1. I love that you’re so set on waiting on the Lord’s timing! This is a great post and it’s refreshing to see someone who realizes that a relationship won’t be absolutely perfect:) thanks for sharing

  2. Pingback: YOU. ARE. WORTH. IT. | AUnursingstudent

  3. Pingback: Nostalgia | AUnursingstudent

Leave a Reply

